IDAHO CODES - CRULETY TO ANIMALS
I print this onto the back of the Heat Warning so that the idiot that left their animal in their vehicle can read the Idaho Statute for themselves. Then they know that they ARE violating the law. Your state may have similar codes. Please check with your state's Statutes. These are not the only Idaho Cruelty to Animals Statutes, but are the ones pertaining to leaving animals in vehicles.
IDAHO CODE PERTAINING TO YOUR CURRENT ACTIONS
CRUELTY TO ANIMALS
25-3505. CARRYING IN A CRUEL MANNER SEIZURE, EXPENSES, LIEN.
Whoever carries or causes to be carried in or upon any vehicle or otherwise any animal in a cruel manner, or knowingly and willfully authorizes or permits it to be subjected to cruelty of any kind, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be punished in accordance with section 25-3520A, Idaho Code. Whenever any such person is taken into custody therefor by any officer, such officer must take charge of such vehicle, and its contents, together with the animal and deposit them in some place of custody. Any necessary expense incurred for taking care of and keeping the same, is a lien thereon, to be paid before the same can be lawfully recovered; and if such expense, or any part thereof remains unpaid, it may be recovered, by the person incurring the same, from the owner of such animal, in an action therefor.
CRUELTY TO ANIMALS
25-3520A. PENALTY FOR VIOLATIONS.
(1) Except as provided in section 25-3503, Idaho Code, any person convicted for a first violation of any of the provisions of this chapter shall be punished, for each offense, by jail sentence of not more than six (6) months or by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) or more than five thousand dollars ($5000), or by both such fine and imprisonment.
(2) Except as provided in section 25-3503, Idaho Code, any person convicted of a second violation of any of the provisions of this chapter within ten (10) years of the first conviction, shall be punished for each offense, by jail sentence of not more than nine (9) months or a fine of not less than two hundred dollars ($200) or more than seven thousand dollars ($7000) or both fine and imprisonment.
(3) Except as provided in section 25-3503, Idaho Code, any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation, within fifteen (15) years of the first conviction, shall be punished for each offense by jail sentence of not more than twelve (12) months or a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) or more than nine thousand dollars ($9000) or by both fine and imprisonment.
Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is copyrighted by Idaho law, I.C. 9-350.
Return to Heat Warning